yRigo has alwas been motivaded by a deep attachement to his cultural roots and a wish to share his personal musical world.  He launched his own salsa band "Bomba Caribe" in 2004. It allowed him to perform his own compositions, where Mother Africa's drum is playing a leading role. This is reflected in the titles of the two CDs : « El Tambo No Miente » and « Benkos Bioho », a tribute to one ot the colombian hereos of the anti-slavery struggle.

Today Rigo continues to share his time with Colombia and Europe. He has just finished the recording of his new CD : La Salsa Llego, an ambitous programme where innovation blends perfectly with respect of traditional salsa principles. So let's enjoy!

Attracted by an international experience, Rigo auditions with the band Maracay Salsa, who is looking for a singer to start a european tour. … a few weeks later he's in Paris, where he appears on famous stages like the New Morning, the Divan du Monde.He's also invited in the Francopholies de La Rochelle, in Switzerland, Spain, Italy.

Rigo raised himself singing in that very special cultural melting-pot, where along centuries the african drums have blended with indigenous melodies and dances of the old colonial Europe. He was nurtured by these musical influences and then during the 70s he dived into the unfuring wave ot salsa music, represented mainly by the great names of the Fania All Stars who will for ever be for Rigo a source of inspiration.

gallery/rigo bio site

Rigo Ruiz was born in Cartagena, Colombia, in the popular district of "Lo Amador". Cartagena has been during 4 centuries a colonial fortress and a major slave port of the Carribean Sea. It was the arena of the first insurections that leaded to independence. And it's also in Cartagena that the great Joe Arroyo, a major influence for Rigo's musical word, was born.

BIO

Tempo Latino, Vic Fezensac

Toros y Salsa, Dax

Limoux Brass Festival, France

Les Jeudis au Jardin, Lavaur, France

Jazz à Montauban, France

Village Tropical, Genève

Feria Carcassonne, France

Fiesta nacional de Colombia, Barcelona

 

 

References

gallery/metales 2

Motivé par son attachement à ses racines culturelles et son désir de faire partager son univers musical personnel, Rigo crée son propre groupe, Bomba Caribe, en 2004. Il peut ainsi interpréter ses propres compositions, où le tambour de la mère Afrique joue un rôle de premier plan. En témoignent deux albums aux titres évocateurs : « El Tambo No Miente » et « Benkos Bioho », hommage à un héros de la lutte des esclaves pour leur liberté et leur dignité.

Aujourd’hui Rigo partage son temps entre la Colombie et l’Europe. Il vient de terminer l'enregistrement en studio à Cali de son dernier album, La Salsa llego, tout un programme, qui se renouvelle tout en ne perdant pas de vue les fondamentaux ...

para bailar y gozarrrrrrr !!!!!!

Attiré par une expérience internationale, il passe une audition pour le groupe Maracay Salsa qui cherche un chanteur pour une tournée en Europe … quelques semaines après il est à Paris. Il se produit au New Morning, au Divan du Monde, aux Francopholies de La Rochelle, mais aussi en Suisse, en Espagne, en Italie, aux Antilles.



 

Rigo a grandi immergé dans ce creuset où se sont mélangés au fil des siècles les tambours africains, les mélodies amérindiennes et les airs de la vieille Europe. Il s’est nourri de toutes ces influences musicales et dans les années 70 il a plongé tête la première dans la vague de la salsa portée par les grands de la Fania All Stars qui resteront une de ses sources d'inspiration.

gallery/rigo bio site

Rigo Ruiz est né en Colombie à Cartagene des Indes, dans le quartier "Lo Amador". Bastion colonial durant quatre siècles, port négrier baigné par la mer des Caraïbes, Cartagène a vu la rébélion des esclaves puis les premières insurections qui conduiront à l'indépendance. Et c'est aussi là qu'est né le grand Joe Arroyo, dont l'influence musicale a été déterminante pour Rigo.

BIOGRAPHIE

Tempo Latino, Vic Fezensac

Toros y Salsa, Dax

Limoux Brass Festival, France

Les Jeudis au Jardin, Lavaur, France

Jazz à Montauban, France

Village Tropical, Genève

Feria Carcassonne, France

Fiesta nacional de Colombia, Barcelona

 

 

Références

gallery/metales 2